H. Hawkline

Released: 14th June 2013
Label: Turnstile Records

The latest EP from Welsh wonder H. Hawkline is one of those instantly memorable EP’s that contains six incredible songs that manages to combine folk, pop, psychedelic and garage rock and will blow your mind.

If you have yet to be introduced to H. Hawkline then you can’t afford to waste a moment more. He follows a line of great talent that is unique to Wales. The music he creates sits perfectly alongside the likes of Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci, Super Furry Animals, Sweet Baboo and Cate Le Bon. He has collaborated with the latter two, together with Euros Childs and Gruff Rhys from the aforementioned bands.

Highlights on this EP include ‘Kiss Me On The Lips’, which is four minutes of complete and utter brilliance. The guitar intro will make you jump around, the vocals come charging at you with intent and the chorus has a magical feel; this all within the opening minute of the song. Halfway through ‘Kiss Me On The Lips’ the song transforms into a haunting folk ballad that will just leave you in complete awe.

To be honest, every song on this EP is a highlight and it really is pointless trying to pick out highlights so I will stop here. ‘Ghouls’ is quite simply a must own EP so yourselves down to your local record store and grab a copy for yourself.

Steve Tay

Strata Florida / Domino

Released: 22nd June 2013
Catfish And The Bottlemen

Released: 17th July 2013
The Darkness Within EP

Released: 7th Mar 2013
Advertise With Us

Click here for more information and pricing.